Road Trip USA 2022

Joshua Tree National Park

The next morning brings bright blue skies and sun again. How else should it be in California.

Joshua Trees at National Park

Today we are going to the first national park on our trip. For the entrance you pay 30$ per vehicle. This is the same for almost all national parks. So we have to pay quite a bit of money. But there is an excellent alternative, the "America The Beautiful" pass.

America the Beautiful Annual Pass
This pass is valid for one year from purchase and costs $80. With that you can pretty much visit all national parks (not state parks).
Unfortunately, outside the USA it is not possible to buy the pass online before the trip. But there are many places where you can buy this on site.
more information about the American the Beautiful Pass

We buy our pass at the Palm Springs-South Coast Field Office. Payment is possible by credit card and as always the employees there are super friendly and happy about you visiting their country.

America the Beautiful Pass and Joshua Tree Base Cap

So now it's off to Joshua Tree Nation Park. We use the south entrance via Interstate 10. As I said, the sun is burning again and I absolutely have to get a hat. So we stop right at the Vistor Center, which is always a must anyway, because here you can get summarized and lovingly presented information about the landscape and wildlife. Furthermore, you can always get tips from the rangers.

Equipped with a base cap, you continue into the park. The landscape is very barren and lined with bush land. Initially, nothing can be seen of the Joshua Trees. But the further we drive into the park, that changes. You can see that there must have been a fire in large parts of the park. The Joshua Trees appear to have been planted by humans and are also very small. I remembered it differently from my first trip to the USA in 2004.

But the picture is gradually changing. First we encounter the strange rock formations. They act as if placed and stacked there. Kinda strange. Of course, they also encourage you to climb around on them, which was somehow much easier as a child ^^

small Joshua Treesrock formations at Joshua Tree National Parkpanorama view from Key View at Joshua Tree National Park

Before we leave the park heading north, we drive briefly to Keys View. The road there is lined with large Joshua trees and the view from Keys View is surprising. It is the highest viewpoint in the national park and offers a fantastic panoramic view of the Coachella Valley and the mountain range beyond.

As I said, we now continue north to Amboy. It is now early afternoon and the thermometer is again showing more than 40°C (104°F). It is still a mystery to me why people are drawn to the end of the world to live here.

The end of the world sign

In Amboy we meet the historic Route 66 and the former Roy's Motel & Cafe. The landscape still resembles a desert and you definitely don't want to get stuck with your car here. We grab an ice-cold refreshment at the gas station at Roy's and let this unreal area affect us a bit. In the gas station various German license plates hang. As the owner tells us, tourists brought these and gave them to him.

Roy's Motel & Cafe in Amboy

The final leg for the day takes us to Kingman where we will have our next overnight stay. We are now in Arizona. We have dinner in a BBQ restaurant. My mom orders half a batch of nachos with everything on them. When the portion arrives, we only ask ourselves what would have happened if she had taken the big one? A wheelbarrow full?

New York: View from Rockerfeller Center (Top of the Rock)New York "Top of the Rock"
Wall Art
New York Wall StreetNew Yorker Wall Street
Prints

Roadtrip USA 2022

Joshua Tree National Park

Der nächste morgen bringt wieder strahlend blauen Himmel und Sonne. Wie soll es auch anders sein in Kalifornien.

Joshua Trees im Nationalpark

Heute geht es in den ersten Nationalpark auf unserer Reise. Für die Einfahrt zahlt man 30$ pro Fahrzeug. Dies ist bei fast allen Nationalparks ebenso. Somit kommt dann einiges an Kosten auf uns zu. Es gibt aber eine hervorragende Alternative, den "America The Beautiful" Pass.

America the Beautiful Annual Pass
Dieser Pass ist ein Jahr ab Kauf gültig und kostet 80$. Damit kann man dann so ziemlich alle Nationalparks (nicht State Parks) besuchen.
Leider ist es außerhalb der USA nicht möglich den Pass vor der Reise online zu kaufen. Es gibt aber sehr viele Stellen, wo man diesen vor Ort erwerben kann.
weitere Informationen zum American the Beautiful Pass

Wir kaufen unseres Pass im Palm Springs-South Coast Field Office. Zahlung ist per Kreditkarte möglich und wie immer sind die Angestellten dort super freundlich und freuen sich darüber, dass man ihr Land besucht.

America the Beautiful Pass und Joshua Tree Base Cap

Nun geht es also los zum Joshua Tree Nation Park. Wir nutzen die Südeingang über die Interstate 10. Wie gesagt brennt die Sonne wieder und ich muss mir unbedingt noch eine Kopfbedeckung besorgen. Wir halten also direkt am Vistor Center, was sowieso immer ein Muss ist, da man hier zusammengefasste und liebevoll dargestellte Informationen über die Landschaft und Tierwelt erhält. Des weiteren kann man sich auch immer noch Tipps von den Rangern holen.

Mit Base Cap ausgestattet geht es also weiter in den Park hinein. Die Landschaft ist sehr karg und von Buschland gesäumt. Von den Joshua Trees ist anfänglich nichts zu sehen. Je weiter wir aber in den Park fahren, ändert sich das. Man kann erkennen, dass es in großen Teilen des Parks gebrannt haben muss. Die Joshua Trees scheinen von Menschen angepflanzt zu sein und sind auch noch sehr klein. Das hatte ich von meiner ersten USA-Reise 2004 noch anders in Erinnerung.

Das Bild ändert sich aber nach und nach. Zuerst treffen wir auf die seltsam anmuten Felsformationen. Sie wirken, wie dort platziert und aufgestapelt. Irgendwie fremdartig. Natürlich animieren sie aber auch dazu auf ihnen herum zu klettern, was als Kind irgendwie alles viel einfacher war ^^

kleine Joshua TreesFelsformationen im Joshua Tree NationalparkPanorama Blick vom Key View im Joshua Tree Nationalpark

Bevor wir den Park in Richtung Norden verlassen fahren wir noch kurz zum Keys View. Die Straße dorthin ist von großen Joshua Trees gesäumt und der Blick vom Keys View ist überraschend. Es ist der höchster Aussichtspunkt im Nationalpark und bietet einen fantastischen Panoramablick auf das Coachella Valley und die dahinter liegende Bergkette.

Wie gesagt fahren wir nun weiter in Richtung Norden nach Amboy. Es ist mittlerweile früher Nachmittag und das Thermometer zeigt wieder über 40°C. Es ist mir weiterhin ein Rätsel, wieso es Menschen an das Ende der Welt zieht, um hier zu leben.

The end of the world sign

In Amboy treffen wir auf die historische Route 66 und das  ehemalige Roy's Motel & Cafe. Die Landschaft gleicht weiterhin einer Wüste und hier möchte man auf keinen Fall liegenbleiben. Wir nehmen an der Tankstelle am Roy's eine eiskalte Erfrischung und lassen diese unwirkliche Gegend etwas auf uns wirken. In der Tankstelle hänge diverse deutsche Autokennzeichen. Wie uns der Inhaber erzählt, habe Touristen diese mitgebracht und ihm geschenkt.

Roy's Motel & Cafe in Amboy

Die letzte Etappe für diesen Tag führt uns nach Kingman, wo wir unser nächste Übernachtung haben werden. Damit befinden wir uns nun in Arizona. Wir essen in einem BBQ Restaurant zu abend. Meine Mom bestellt sich die halbe Portion Nachos mit allem möglichen darauf. Als dann die Portion ankommt, fragen wir uns nur, was wäre gewesen, wenn sie die Große genommen hätte? Ein Schubkarre voll?