Road Trip USA 2022

Monument Valley

After a classic hotel breakfast with waffles, bagels and filter coffee, we make our way to Monument Valley, which can be reached from Page in about 2 hours.

panoramic view over the Monument Valley

Far in front of the visitor center you can see the typical rock formations, which for me represent the classic western backdrop.

$8 per person will be charged at the entrance to the park. The "American the Beautiful Pass" is not valid here as this park is part of Navajo County. Thus, the revenue stays with the Navajos who run the park.

Park Information: Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park

Since we are traveling in an SUV, we drive the 17-mile (27 km) loop in our own vehicle. I would only do this to a limited extent with a car/limousine, since the path is already heavily used and you can certainly touch down quickly in some places. In this case, you can also book guided tours, where stories of the Navajos will certainly be told.

We refrain from longer hikes again, because you can guess, the thermometer shows well over 86°F (30°C) again. So we always stop and stay in the immediate vicinity of the vehicle. With some rock formations, we wonder how long they will stay like this.

rock formations in Monument Valley rock formations in Monument Valley rock formations in Monument Valley
Highway to Monument Valley

All in all, we need a little more than two hours for the loop and leave Monument Valley in a northeasterly direction in the early afternoon. With that we leave the desert-like landscapes of Arizona and soon the forest-covered Rocky Mountains in Colorado should be waiting for us.

on the road to Colorado welcome sign Colorado

Well, it's not going that fast. Our next hotel awaits us in the small town of Parachute. But until then there are still 310 mi (500 km) and therefore five hours to drive. We are at the hotel around 8 p.m. and there is actually a Mexican restaurant within walking distance, where we naturally treat ourselves to a large margarita first. The food is delicious and, as always, more than enough.

Tomorrow it's off to Aspen.

New York Subway in HarlemNew York Subway in Harlem
Poster 24x36 in
New York SkylineNew Yorker Skyline
Poster 36x24 in

Road Trip USA 2022

Monument Valley

Nach einem klassischen Hotelfrühstück mit Waffeln, Bagel und Filterkaffee machen wir uns auf den Weg ins Monument Valley, das von Page aus in ca. 2 Stunden zu erreichen ist.

Panoramablick über das Monument Valley

Schon weit vor dem Visitor Center sieht man die typischen Gesteinsformationen, welche für mich, die klassische Westernkulisse darstellen.

An der Zufahrt zum Park werden dann 8$ pro Person fällig. Der "American the Beautiful Pass" ist hier nicht gültig, da dieser Park zum Navajo County gehört. Somit bleiben die Einnahmen bei den Navajos, welchen den Park betreiben.

Parkinfos: Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park

Da wir mit einem SUV unterwegs sind, fahren wir den 17 Meilen (27 km) langen Rundweg mit unserem eigenen Auto. Mit einem PKW/einer Limousine würde ich dies nur begrenzt tun, da teilweise der Weg schon stark ausgefahren ist und man sicherlich an einigen Stellen schnell mal aufsetzen kann. In diesem Fall kann man auch geführte Touren buchen, bei welchen sicherlich auch Geschichten der Navajos zum Besten gegeben werden.

Von längeren Wanderungen sehen wir wieder mal ab, denn ihr dürft raten, das Thermometer zeigt wieder weit über 30°C an. Wir stoppen also immer mal und halten uns dann in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Fahrzeug auf. Bei einigen Felsformationen, fragen wir uns, wie lange diese wohl noch so stehen bleiben werden.

Felsformationen im Monument Valley Felsformationen im Monument Valley Felsformationen im Monument Valley
Highway zum Monument Valley

Insgesamt benötigen wir etwas mehr als zwei Stunden für den Loop und verlassen das Monument Valley am frühen Nachmittag in nordöstlicher Richtung. Damit verlassen wir auch die wüstenartigen Landstriche Arizonas und es sollten uns in Kürze die waldbedeckten Rocky Mountains in Colorado erwarten.

Auf dem Weg nach Colorado Willkommensschild Colorado

Nun gut, so schnell geht es nun auch nicht. Unser nächstes Hotel erwartet uns in der Kleinstadt Parachute. Bis dahin sind es aber nun doch noch 500km und somit auch fünf Stunden zu fahren. Wir sind dann so gegen 20 Uhr im Hotel und tatsächlich fußläufig gibt es ein mexikanisches Restaurant, in dem wir uns natürlich erst einmal eine große Margaritha gönnen. Das Essen ist lecker und wie immer mehr als ausreichend.

Morgen geht es dann nach Aspen.

das australische Outback aus der LuftAustraliens Outback
Poster 90x60 cm
das australische Outback aus der LuftAustraliens Outback
Poster 90x60 cm